An Introduction

I’m going to open with one of those self-help book openings: Congratulations. If you’re here, it most likely means you’re looking for answers. Whether you yourself are male or female, you’ve stumbled upon a blog that’s here to help. This blog, obviously, is male-centric, but is welcome to any and all readers. Its focus is to help out the modern male, in a world that’s abundant in female-oriented guidance and advocacy. That’s not to criticize the female oriented. It just means that The Universal Male will be a beacon for men. I don’t claim to have a monopoly on answers or truth or even opinion, so I will welcome debate and disagreement. I will, whenever possible, seek truth – and it may not always be pretty.

It’s easier for me to explain what this blog isn’t first. It isn’t a “Men’s Rights” blog. Although I may agree with some of the tenets of that movement as it were, I’m not an advocate of assembling, protesting, legislating, and the like to find happiness. This is also not an Evo-Psych blog. If I have a faith it’s science, but I’m not qualified necessarily to go beyond layman’s knowledge of evolution, psychology, biology, or any other such field. We can discuss it, but don’t take what you read here as the final word. (That should go for anything you read, anywhere.) And finally this is not a Politics blog. Discussion of current events will be unavoidable, but I’m not here to tell you whom to vote for, what cause to support, or whom to hate. I’m going to do my best to avoid firebrand statements and moral grandstanding; if I slip, I’m only human.

I’m here to write about self-improvement and growth as a man on this tiny blue marble. Part of it will involve tips on seducing the fairer sex. With all due respect to homosexual men, who again are welcome here, the overall thrust (ha) of my romantic advice will be toward enjoying the company of females. But as we say in the seduction world, women are really only a byproduct of happiness, so we’re going to focus on exactly that. Your happiness, your sovereignty, your independence, your choices, and your consequences. I can be wordy at times, but I will try to boil things down as simply as possible.

And now, since we are dabbling in the language arts, I’m going to end this first post with a personal anecdote.

During my teen years, I was unlucky with females. Actually “unlucky” may be the wrong word, since that would imply trial and error. I was just clueless. I had gone to a very small private junior high, with few choices and zero discretion when it came to “dating.” When I went with a girl to a movie, everyone knew. By high school, I had figured out how to be popular (make jokes, be a smartass in class) but still not how to leverage that into girlie action. Instead I became an emotional tampon for my female “friends,” who deep down I wanted to bang but could never figure out how to go about it.

By my junior year I had mustered the nuts to ask a younger girl out. I’ll call her Catherine. We had bonded in a school play and I figured I had some coin with her. On our first date, I made it to make-out, then immediately negotiated to “go steady.” I was let down easy.

Off and on over the next year of so, I chased this girl. One girl. I knew Catherine went out with other boys, but I couldn’t shake my sniper’s mentality. I figured if I attacked her from enough angles, she’d cave. The cycle was typical: We’d have a good time on a date, kiss a little, then she’d break my heart and tell me we should be friends. I’d do silly things like buy flowers or tell her how crazy I was about her, and she’d tell me I was a nice guy and really sweet.

Finally, by my final semester, I’d had it. Even a chump has a breaking point, right? I decided I was through chasing her and even told her as much to her face. In reality I wanted to lick a boob, any boob, and get my dick wet. There were other girls at my school. I started asking out a couple of different ones, including a friend of Catherine’s.

Lo and behold what should happen but Catherine tells me she wants to be with me. And it wasn’t just lip service this time. She threw herself physically at me. We dated my last few months of high school.

A friend of mine later commented on how I “wore Catherine down.” In other words, he believed my persistent beta actions finally got her panties to drop. I wasn’t totally unplugged then, but I did understand that this wasn’t true at all.

“I didn’t wear her down,” I rebutted. “I stopped paying attention to her. That’s when she chased me.

The lesson then, as I’m sure you’ve figured out, is that your attention (or lack thereof) is your most powerful weapon when interacting with women. Certainly you will need to give some attention in order to signal interest and build rapport. But subsequent withdrawal of attention can be equally powerful. There will be different levels of pulling back as dictated by each situation, and I’ll get to those in future posts. But always remember that attention is a tool, and its absence can be just as useful to you when finding balance in seduction. It’s especially useful when you’re not getting what you want out of a relationship; in a case like mine with Catherine, it had less to do with seducing her than with me keeping my sanity and not being a doormat. If Catherine had never talked to me again I still would have been happier for having the self-respect to walk away from a frustrating situation. Remember that life is short and to spend it trying to ply someone whose interests don’t coincide with yours is a colossal waste of your time.

Leave a Reply

